R. SULIT

R. SULIT
v.
PRESIDENT OF THE CANADA BORDER SERVICES AGENCY
Appeal No. AP-2016-037

Decision and reasons issued
Tuesday, September 5, 2017

TABLE OF CONTENTS

 

IN THE MATTER OF an appeal heard on July 6, 2017, pursuant to section 67 of the Customs Act, R.S.C., 1985, c. 1 (2nd Supp.);

AND IN THE MATTER OF a decision of the President of the Canada Border Services Agency, dated December 7, 2016, with respect to a request for re-determination pursuant to subsection 60(4) of the Customs Act.

BETWEEN

R. SULIT Appellant

AND

THE PRESIDENT OF THE CANADA BORDER SERVICES AGENCY Respondent

DECISION

The appeal is dismissed.

Jason W. Downey
Jason W. Downey
Presiding Member

Place of Hearing: Ottawa, Ontario
Date of Hearing: July 6, 2017

Tribunal Panel: Jason W. Downey, Presiding Member

Support Staff: Amélie Cournoyer, Counsel

PARTICIPANTS:

Appellant

 

R. Sulit

 

 

Respondent

Counsel/Representative

President of the Canada Border Services Agency

Amy Smeltzer

Please address all communications to:

The Registrar
Secretariat to the Canadian International Trade Tribunal
333 Laurier Avenue West
15th Floor
Ottawa, Ontario  K1A 0G7

Telephone: 613-993-3595
Fax: 613-990-2439
E-mail: citt-tcce@tribunal.gc.ca

STATEMENT OF REASONS

  1. This is an appeal filed with the Canadian International Trade Tribunal (the Tribunal) pursuant to subsection 67(1) of the Customs Act[1] from a decision made on December 7, 2016, by the President of the Canada Border Services Agency (CBSA) pursuant to subsection 60(4).
  2. The issue in this appeal is whether two brass knuckles (the goods in issue) imported by Mr. R. Sulit are properly classified under tariff item No. 9898.00.00 of the schedule to the Customs Tariff[2] as prohibited weapons and are therefore prohibited from importation into Canada pursuant to subsection 136(1).

PROCEDURAL HISTORY

  1. On or about August 15, 2016, Mr. Sulit ordered the goods in issue.
  2. On August 31, 2016, the CBSA detained the goods in issue pursuant to section 101 of the Act.
  3. On September 8, 2016, pursuant to subsection 58(1) of the Act, the CBSA issued a decision classifying the goods in issue as prohibited weapons under tariff item No. 9898.00.00. This classification was based on the CBSA’s determination that the goods in issue are prohibited weapons within the meaning of subsection 84(1) of the Criminal Code[3].
  4. On September 16, 2016, pursuant to subsection 60(1) of the Act, Mr. Sulit requested a re-determination of the CBSA’s decision.
  5. On December 7, 2016, pursuant to subsection 60(4) of the Act, the CBSA confirmed its original determination with regard to the tariff classification of the goods in issue.
  6. On January 9, 2017, pursuant to subsection 67(1) of the Act, Mr. Sulit filed the present appeal with the Tribunal.
  7. The Tribunal decided to hear the matter by way of written submissions in accordance with Rules 25 and 25.1 of the Canadian International Trade Tribunal Rules,[4] to which the parties did not object. The hearing was held in Ottawa, Ontario, on July 6, 2017. The goods in issue were made available and were examined by the Tribunal.

GOODS IN ISSUE

  1. There is no dispute between the parties that the goods in issue are brass knuckles.
  2. Mr. Sulit described the goods in issue as pieces of metal shaped to fit around the knuckles. The CBSA described the goods in issue as gold-colored pieces of metal featuring four finger holes designed to fit over the fingers of the hand.

STATUTORY FRAMEWORK

  1. Subsection 136(1) of the Customs Tariff provides as follows:

    The importation of goods of tariff item No. 9897.00.00, 9898.00.00 or 9899.00.00 is prohibited.

    L’importation des marchandises des nos tarifaires 9897.00.00, 9898.00.00 ou 9899.00.00 est interdite.

    [Emphasis added]

  2. When dealing with the classification of goods under tariff item No. 9898.00.00, subsection 136(2) of the Customs Tariff provides that the General Rules for the Interpretation of the Harmonized System[5] do not apply. Furthermore, note 1 to Chapter 98 provides that “[g]oods which are described in any provision of this Chapter are classifiable in said provision if the conditions and requirements thereof and of any applicable regulations are met.”
  3. The question of whether the goods in issue are properly classified under tariff item No. 9898.00.00 must therefore be determined according to the terms of that tariff item and the applicable provisions of the Criminal Code.
  4. The list of prohibited goods in tariff item No. 9898.00.00 includes “prohibited weapons”. For the purposes of tariff item No. 9898.00.00, the expression “prohibited weapons” has the same meaning as in subsection 84(1) of the Criminal Code.
  5. Subsection 84(1) of the Criminal Code defines “prohibited weapon” as follows, of which only paragraph (b) is relevant:

    (a) a knife that has a blade that opens automatically by gravity or centrifugal force or by hand pressure applied to a button, spring or other device in or attached to the handle of the knife, or

    (b) any weapon, other than a firearm, that is prescribed to be a prohibited weapon . . . .

    a) Couteau dont la lame s’ouvre automatiquement par gravité ou force centrifuge ou par pression manuelle sur un bouton, un ressort ou autre dispositif incorporé ou attaché au manche;

    b) toute arme – qui n’est pas une arme à feu – désignée comme telle par règlement.

  6. Section 4 of the Regulations Prescribing Certain Firearms and Other Weapons, Components and Parts of Weapons, Accessories, Cartridge Magazines, Ammunition and Projectiles as Prohibited, Restricted or Non-Restricted[6] provides that weapons listed in Part 3 of the schedule to those regulations are considered to be “prohibited weapons” under subsection 84(1) of the Criminal Code.
  7. Section 15 of Part 3 of the schedule to the Regulations Prescribing Certain Weapons as Prohibited provides for the following, designating such goods as prohibited weapons:

    The device known as “Brass Knuckles” and any similar device consisting of a band of metal with one or more finger holes designed to fit over the fingers of the hand.

    L’instrument communément appelé « coup-de-poing américain » et autre instrument semblable consistant en une armature métallique trouée dans laquelle on enfile les doigts.

POSITIONS OF PARTIES

  1. Mr. Sulit acknowledged that the goods in issue are brass knuckles and consequently prohibited weapons, but submitted that he required them for his personal protection, and that he had a right to them in accordance with his personal beliefs.
  2. The CBSA submitted that the goods in issue meet the definition of brass knuckles provided by section 15 of Part 3 of the schedule to the Regulations Prescribing Certain Weapons as Prohibited. The CBSA argued that Mr. Sulit has not discharged his burden of proving that the goods in issue are not properly classified as prohibited weapons under tariff item No. 9898.00.00 of the schedule to the Customs Tariff. Finally, the CBSA submitted that the Tribunal does not have discretion to exclude the goods in issue from the scope of the prohibition.

ANALYSIS

  1. Based on the language in section 15 of Part 3 of the schedule to the Regulations Prescribing Certain Weapons as Prohibited, in order to be considered brass knuckles, the goods in issue must meet three criteria. Specifically, the goods in issue must (1) be a band of metal (2) with one or more finger holes (3) designed to fit over the fingers of the hand.
  2. Having examined the goods in issue, the Tribunal has no difficulty concluding that they meet all three elements of the definition: they consist of a band of metal with four finger holes designed to fit over the fingers of the hand.
  3. It must also be noted that there is no dispute between the parties that the goods in issue meet the definition of brass knuckles. Indeed, Mr. Sulit admitted that the goods in issue are brass knuckles and, more particularly, that they are pieces of metal shaped to fit around the knuckles to assist the user to deliver a punch force that increases the likelihood of a victim suffering tissue damage and bone fractures.
  4. Further, Mr. Sulit admitted that the goods in issue should be classified as prohibited weapons under tariff item No. 9898.00.00 of the Customs Tariff.  
  5. The Tribunal must apply the law as it stands and does not have the power to dispense equity in such a matter.[7] As the CBSA noted, the fact that an individual wishes to use a prohibited weapon for self-defence is not a consideration in the determination of the tariff classification, given the relevant provisions of the legislation and the Regulations Prescribing Certain Weapons as Prohibited. Accordingly, the Tribunal has no discretion on this issue, as the legislative and regulatory framework does not provide for the exclusion of brass knuckles used for self-defence from the scope of the prohibition.[8] Moreover, the personal beliefs raised by Mr. Sulit in support of his position do not constitute a basis upon which the Tribunal could classify the goods in issue.
  6. Given the foregoing, the Tribunal finds that Mr. Sulit failed to demonstrate that the goods in issue are not properly classified as prohibited weapons under tariff item No. 9898.00.00 of the Customs Tariff.[9]

DECISION

  1. The appeal is dismissed.
 

[1].     R.S.C., 1985, c. 1 (2nd Supp.) [Act].

[2].     S.C. 1997, c. 36.

[3].     R.S.C., 1985, c. C-46.

[4].     S.O.R./91-499.

[5].     S.C. 1997, c. 36, schedule.

[6].     S.O.R./98-462 [Regulations Prescribing Certain Weapons as Prohibited].

[7].     Wayne Erikson v. Commissioner of the Canada Customs and Revenue Agency (3 January 2002), AP-2000-059 (CITT) at 3; G. Bradford v. President of the Canada Border Services Agency (12 September 2016), AP-2015-031 (CITT) at para. 34.

[8].     Andrew Taylor v. President of the Canada Border Services Agency (3 December 2008), AP-2007-025 (CITT) at para. 40.

[9].     Under subsection 152(3) of the Customs Act, the appellant bears the burden of demonstrating that the classification of the imported goods at issue was incorrect and thereby that they are not prohibited weapons. See Canada (Border Services Agency) v. Miner, 2012 FCA 81 (CanLII) at paras. 7, 21.

Case Number(s)

AP-2016-037

Attachment(s)

ap2q037_e.pdf (95.27 KB)

Status

Publication Date

Thursday, September 7, 2017

Modification Date

Thursday, September 7, 2017

R. SULIT

R. SULIT
c.
PRÉSIDENT DE L’AGENCE DES SERVICES FRONTALIERS DU CANADA
Appel no AP-2016-037

Décision et motifs rendus
le mardi 5 septembre 2017

TABLE DES MATIÈRES

 

EU ÉGARD À un appel entendu le 6 juillet 2017 en vertu de l’article 67 de la Loi sur les douanes, L.R.C. (1985), ch. 1 (2e suppl.);

ET EU ÉGARD À une décision rendue par le président de l’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada le 7 décembre 2016 concernant une demande de révision aux termes du paragraphe 60(4) de la Loi sur les douanes.

ENTRE

R. SULIT Appelante

ET

LE PRÉSIDENT DE L’AGENCE DES SERVICES FRONTALIERS DU CANADA Intimé

DÉCISION

L’appel est rejeté.

Jason W. Downey
Jason W. Downey
Membre présidant

Lieu de l’audience : Ottawa (Ontario)
Date de l’audience : le 6 juillet 2017

Membre du Tribunal : Jason W. Downey, membre présidant

Personnel de soutien : Amélie Cournoyer, conseillère juridique

PARTICIPANTS :

Appelante

 

R. Sulit

 

 

Intimé

Conseiller/représentant

Président de l’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada

Amy Smeltzer

Veuillez adresser toutes les communications au :

Greffier
Secrétariat du Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur
15e étage
333, avenue Laurier Ouest
Ottawa (Ontario)  K1A 0G7

Téléphone : 613-993-3595
Télécopieur : 613-990-2439
Courriel : tcce-citt@tribunal.gc.ca

EXPOSÉ DES MOTIFS

  1. Le présent appel est interjeté auprès du Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur (le Tribunal), aux termes du paragraphe 67(1) de la Loi sur les douanes,[1] contre une décision rendue le 7 décembre 2016 par le président de l’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada (ASFC), aux termes du paragraphe 60(4).
  2. Le litige concerne le classement tarifaire de deux coups-de-poing américains (les marchandises en cause) importés par M. R. Sulit. Il s’agit pour le Tribunal de déterminer si les marchandises en cause sont correctement classées dans le numéro tarifaire 9898.00.00 de l’annexe du Tarif des douanes[2] à titre d’armes prohibées et, par conséquent, de marchandises dont l’importation est interdite au Canada aux termes du paragraphe 136(1).

HISTORIQUE DE LA PROCÉDURE

  1. Le ou autour du 15 août 2016, M. Sulit a commandé les marchandises en cause.
  2. Le 31 août 2016, l’ASFC a retenu les marchandises en cause aux termes de l’article 101 de la Loi.
  3. Le 8 septembre 2016, aux termes du paragraphe 58(1) de la Loi, l’ASFC a rendu une décision classant les marchandises en cause dans le numéro tarifaire 9898.00.00 à titre d’armes prohibées. Ce classement est fondé sur la détermination de l’ASFC selon laquelle les marchandises en cause constituent des armes prohibées au sens du paragraphe 84(1) du Code criminel.[3]
  4. Le 16 septembre 2016, aux termes du paragraphe 60(1) de la Loi, M. Sulit a demandé la révision de la décision de l’ASFC.
  5. Le 7 décembre 2016, aux termes du paragraphe 60(4) de la Loi, l’ASFC a confirmé sa décision originale en ce qui concerne le classement tarifaire des marchandises en cause.
  6. Le 9 janvier 2017, aux termes du paragraphe 67(1) de la Loi, M. Sulit a interjeté le présent appel auprès du Tribunal.
  7. Le Tribunal a décidé de statuer sur la plainte sur la foi des pièces versées au dossier, conformément aux articles 25 et 25.1 des Règles du Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur[4], ce à quoi les parties ne se sont pas opposées. Le Tribunal a instruit l’appel à Ottawa (Ontario) le 6 juillet 2017. Les marchandises en cause ont été mises à la disposition du Tribunal, qui les a examiner.

MARCHANDISES EN CAUSE

  1. Les parties conviennent que les marchandises en cause sont des coups-de-poing américains.
  2. M. Sulit décrit les marchandises en cause comme des pièces de métal qui épousent la forme des jointures. L’ASFC décrit les marchandises en cause comme des pièces de métal doré percées de quatre trous dans lesquels on enfile les doigts.

CADRE LÉGISLATIF

  1. Le paragraphe 136(1) du Tarif des douanes stipule ce qui suit :

    L’importation des marchandises des nos tarifaires 9897.00.00, 9898.00.00 ou 9899.00.00 est interdite.

    The importation of goods of tariff item No. 9897.00.00, 9898.00.00 or 9899.00.00 is prohibited.

    [Nos italiques]

  1. Lorsqu’il est question du classement de marchandises dans le numéro tarifaire 9898.00.00, le paragraphe 136(2) du Tarif des douanes prévoit que les Règles générales pour l’interprétation du Système harmonisé[5] ne s’appliquent pas. De plus, la note 1 du chapitre 98 prévoit que les « marchandises qui sont décrites dans une disposition du présent chapitre peuvent être classées dans ladite position si les conditions et les exigences de celle-ci et de tout autre règlement applicable sont respectées ».
  2. La question de savoir si les marchandises en cause sont correctement classées dans le numéro tarifaire 9898.00.00 doit donc être tranchée conformément aux dispositions de ce numéro tarifaire et aux dispositions applicables du Code criminel.
  3. La liste des marchandises prohibées dans le numéro tarifaire 9898.00.00 comprend les « armes prohibées ». Pour l’application du numéro tarifaire 9898.00.00, l’expression « armes prohibées » s’entend au sens du paragraphe 84(1) du Code criminel.
  4. Le paragraphe 84(1) du Code criminel définit le terme « arme prohibée » de la façon suivante, dont seul l’alinéa b) est pertinent :

    a) Couteau dont la lame s’ouvre automatiquement par gravité ou force centrifuge ou par pression manuelle sur un bouton, un ressort ou autre dispositif incorporé ou attaché au manche;

    b) toute arme – qui n’est pas une arme à feu – désignée comme telle par règlement.

    (a) a knife that has a blade that opens automatically by gravity or centrifugal force or by hand pressure applied to a button, spring or other device in or attached to the handle of the knife, or

    (b) any weapon, other than a firearm, that is prescribed to be a prohibited weapon . . . .

  1. L’article 4 du Règlement désignant des armes à feu, armes, éléments ou pièces d’armes, accessoires, chargeurs, munitions et projectiles comme étant prohibés, à autorisation restreinte ou sans restriction[6] indique que les armes énumérées à la partie 3 de l’annexe de ce règlement sont considérées comme des « armes prohibées » au sens du paragraphe 84(1) du Code criminel.
  2. L’article 15 de la partie 3 de l’annexe du Règlement désignant certaines armes comme étant prohibées est rédigé comme suit et qualifie ces marchandises d’armes prohibées :

    L’instrument communément appelé « coup-de-poing américain » et autre instrument semblable consistant en une armature métallique trouée dans laquelle on enfile les doigts.

    The device known as “Brass Knuckles” and any similar device consisting of a band of metal with one or more finger holes designed to fit over the fingers of the hand.

POSITION DES PARTIES

  1. M. Sulit reconnaît que les marchandises en cause sont des coups-de-poing américains et que, par conséquent, elles sont des armes prohibées, mais soutient qu’il en a besoin pour se protéger, et qu’il a le droit de les posséder conformément à ses croyances personnelles.
  2. L’ASFC soutient que les marchandises en cause satisfont à la définition de coup-de-poing américain qui figure à l’article 15 de la partie 3 de l’annexe du Règlement désignant certaines armes comme étant prohibées. L’ASFC soutient qu’il incombe à M. Sulit de prouver que les marchandises en cause ne sont pas correctement classées à titre d’armes prohibées dans le numéro tarifaire 9898.00.00 de l’annexe du du Tarif des douanes. Enfin, l’ASFC soutient que le Tribunal n’a pas le pouvoir discrétionnaire d’exclure les marchandises en cause de la portée de la prohibition.

ANALYSE

  1. Aux termes de l’article 15 de la partie 3 de l’annexe du Règlement désignant certaines armes comme étant prohibées, pour être considérées comme des coups-de-poing américains, les marchandises en cause doivent satisfaire à trois critères : elles doivent 1) être constituées d’une armature métallique 2) comportant des trous 3) et conçues pour y enfiler les doigts.
  2. Ayant examiné les marchandises en cause, le Tribunal conclut sans difficulté qu’elles satisfont aux trois critères de la définition : elles sont constituées d’une armature métallique comportant quatre trous dans lesquels on enfile les doigts.
  3. Il doit aussi être souligné que les parties conviennent que les marchandises en cause correspondent à la définition de coup-de-poing américain. En effet, M. Sulit admet que les marchandises en cause sont des coups-de-poing américains et, plus particulièrement, qu’elles sont des pièces de métal conçues pour épouser la forme des jointures afin d’aider l’utilisateur à assener un coup de poing d’une force qui augmente la probabilité qu’une victime subisse des lésions cutanées et des fractures.
  4. De plus, M. Sulit admet que les marchandises en cause doivent être classées à titre d’armes prohibées dans le numéro tarifaire 9898.00.00 de l’annexe du Tarif des douanes.  
  5. Le Tribunal doit appliquer la loi telle qu’elle est rédigée et n’est pas habilité à dispenser des mesures en équité dans un tel cas[7]. Comme le souligne l’ASFC, le fait qu’une personne souhaite utiliser une arme prohibée pour se défendre n’entre pas en ligne de compte dans la détermination du classement tarifaire étant donné les dispositions pertinentes de la législation et du Règlement désignant certaines armes comme étant prohibées. Par conséquent, le Tribunal n’a aucun pouvoir discrétionnaire sur cette question puisque le cadre législatif et réglementaire ne prévoit pas l’exclusion des coups-de-poing américains utilisés pour se défendre de la portée de la prohibition[8]. En outre, les croyances personnelles de M. Sulit invoquées à l’appui de sa position ne constituent pas un motif sur lequel le Tribunal pourrait se fonder pour classer les marchandises en cause.
  6. Compte tenu de ce qui précède, le Tribunal conclut que M. Sulit n’a pas démontré que les marchandises en cause ne sont pas correctement classées à titre d’armes prohibées dans le numéro tarifaire 9898.00.00 de l’annexe du Tarif des douanes[9].

DÉCISION

  1. L’appel est rejeté.
 

[1].     L.R.C. (1985), ch. 1 (2e suppl.) [Loi].

[2].     L.C. 1997, ch. 36.

[3].     L.R.C., 1985, ch. C-46.

[4].     D.O.R.S./91-499.

[5].     L.C. 1997, ch. 36, annexe.

[6].     D.O.R.S./98-462 [Règlement désignant certaines armes comme étant prohibées].

[7].     Wayne Erikson c. Commissaire de l’Agence des douanes et du revenu du Canada (3 janvier 2002), AP-2000-059 (TCCE) à la p. 3; G. Bradford c. Président de l’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada (12 septembre 2016), AP-2015-031 (TCCE) au par. 34.

[8].     Andrew Taylor c. Président de l’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada (3 décembre 2008), AP-2007-025 (TCCE) au par. 40.

[9].     Aux termes du paragraphe 152(3) de la Loi sur les douanes, la partie appelante a le fardeau de démontrer que le classement des marchandises importées est incorrect et que, par conséquent, elles ne constituent pas des armes prohibées. Voir Canada (Agence des services frontaliers) c. Miner, 2012 CAF 81 (CanLII) aux par. 7, 21.

Numéro(s) du cas

AP-2016-037

Pièce(s) jointe(s)

ap2q037_f.pdf (102.17 Ko)

Statut

Date de publication

Le Jeudi 7 Septembre 2017

Date de modification

Le Jeudi 7 Septembre 2017