SILICON METAL

SILICON METAL
Inquiry No. NQ-2017-001

Finding issued
Thursday, November 2, 2017

 

IN THE MATTER OF an inquiry, pursuant to section 42 of the Special Import Measures Act, respecting:

silicon metal originating in or exported from the Federative Republic of Brazil, the Republic of Kazakhstan, Lao People’s Democratic Republic, Malaysia, the Kingdom of Norway and the Kingdom of Thailand

FINDING

The Canadian International Trade Tribunal, pursuant to the provisions of section 42 of the Special Import Measures Act, has conducted an inquiry to determine whether the dumping of silicon metal containing at least 96.00% but less than 99.99% silicon by weight, and silicon metal containing between 89.00% and 96.00% silicon by weight that contains aluminum greater than 0.20% by weight, of all forms and sizes, originating in or exported from the Federative Republic of Brazil, the Republic of Kazakhstan, Lao People’s Democratic Republic, Malaysia, the Kingdom of Norway and the Kingdom of Thailand, and the subsidizing of the above-mentioned goods originating in or exported from the Federative Republic of Brazil, the Republic of Kazakhstan, Malaysia, the Kingdom of Norway and the Kingdom of Thailand, have caused injury or are threatening to cause injury to the domestic industry.

This inquiry is pursuant to the issuance by the President of the Canada Border Services Agency, on July 5, 2017, of a preliminary determination of dumping with respect to the above-mentioned goods originating in or exported from the Federative Republic of Brazil, the Republic of Kazakhstan, Lao People’s Democratic Republic, Malaysia, the Kingdom of Norway and the Kingdom of Thailand, and a preliminary determination of subsidizing with respect to the above-mentioned goods originating in or exported from Federative Republic of Brazil, the Republic of Kazakhstan, Malaysia, the Kingdom of Norway and the Kingdom of Thailand.

On October 3, 2017, the President of the Canada Border Services Agency made a final determination of dumping in respect of the above-mentioned goods originating in or exported from the Federative Republic of Brazil (excluding those goods exported by Rima Industrial S.A.), the Republic of Kazakhstan, Lao People’s Democratic Republic, Malaysia and the Kingdom of Thailand, and a final determination of subsidizing in respect of the above-mentioned goods originating in or exported from the Federative Republic of Brazil, the Republic of Kazakhstan, Malaysia and the Kingdom of Norway.

The Canadian International Trade Tribunal hereby finds, pursuant to subsection 43(1) of the Special Import Measures Act, that the dumping and/or subsidizing of the above-mentioned goods originating in or exported from the Federative Republic of Brazil, the Republic of Kazakhstan, Lao People’s Democratic Republic, Malaysia, the Kingdom of Norway and the Kingdom of Thailand have not caused injury and are not threatening to cause injury to the domestic industry.

Ann Penner
Ann Penner

Member

Serge Fréchette
Serge Fréchette
Member

The statement of reasons will be issued within 15 days.

Case Number(s)

NQ-2017-001

Attachment(s)

nq2r001_e.pdf (42.36 KB)

Status

Publication Date

Thursday, November 2, 2017

Modification Date

Thursday, November 2, 2017

SILICIUM-MÉTAL

SILICIUM MÉTAL
Enquête no NQ-2017-001

Conclusions rendues
le jeudi 2 novembre 2017

 

EU ÉGARD À une enquête aux termes de l’article 42 de la Loi sur les mesures spéciales d’importation concernant du :

SILICIUM MÉTAL ORIGINAIRE OU EXPORTÉ DE LA RÉPUBLIQUE FÉDÉRATIVE DU BRÉSIL, DE LA RÉPUBLIQUE DU KAZAKHSTAN, DE LA RÉPUBLIQUE DÉMOCRATIQUE POPULAIRE LAO, DE LA MALAISIE, DU ROYAUME DE NORVÈGE ET DU ROYAUME DE THAÏLANDE

CONCLUSIONS

Le Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur a procédé à une enquête, aux termes des dispositions de l’article 42 de la Loi sur les mesures spéciales d’importation, afin de déterminer si le dumping de silicium métal contenant au moins 96 %, mais moins de 99,99 % de silicium en poids, et du silicium métal contenant entre 89 % et 96 % de silicium en poids contenant de l’aluminium à plus de 0,20 % en poids, de toutes les formes et grandeurs, originaire ou exporté de la République fédérative du Brésil, de la République du Kazakhstan, de la République démocratique populaire lao, de la Malaisie, du Royaume de Norvège et du Royaume de Thaïlande, et le subventionnement des marchandises susmentionnées originaires ou exportées de la République fédérative du Brésil, de la République du Kazakhstan, de la Malaisie, du Royaume de Norvège et du Royaume de Thaïlande, ont causé un dommage ou menacent de causer un dommage à la branche de production nationale.

La présente enquête fait suite à la publication par le président de l’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada, le 5 juillet 2017, d’une décision provisoire de dumping concernant les marchandises susmentionnées originaires ou exportées de la République fédérative du Brésil, de la République du Kazakhstan, de la République démocratique populaire lao, de la Malaisie, du Royaume de Norvège et du Royaume de Thaïlande, et d’une décision provisoire de subventionnement concernant les marchandises susmentionnées originaires ou exportées de la République fédérative du Brésil, de la République du Kazakhstan, de la Malaisie, du Royaume de Norvège et du Royaume de Thaïlande.

Le 3 octobre 2017, le président de l’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada a rendu une décision définitive concernant le dumping des marchandises susmentionnées originaires ou exportées de la République fédérative du Brésil (excluant les marchandises exportées par Rima Industrial S.A.), de la République du Kazakhstan, de la République démocratique populaire lao, de la Malaisie et du Royaume de Thaïlande, ainsi qu’une décision définitive concernant le subventionnement des marchandises susmentionnées originaires ou exportées de la République fédérative du Brésil, de la République du Kazakhstan, de la Malaisie et du Royaume de Norvège.

Aux termes du paragraphe 43(1) de la Loi sur les mesures spéciales d’importation, le Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur conclut par les présentes que le dumping et/ou le subventionnement des marchandises susmentionnées originaires ou exportées de la République fédérative du Brésil, de la République du Kazakhstan, de la République démocratique populaire lao, de la Malaisie, du Royaume de Norvège et du Royaume de Thaïlande n’ont pas causé un dommage et ne menacent pas de causer un dommage à la branche de production nationale.

Ann Penner
Ann Penner
Membre

Serge Fréchette
Serge Fréchette
Membre

L’exposé des motifs sera publié d’ici 15 jours.

Numéro(s) du cas

NQ-2017-001

Pièce(s) jointe(s)

nq2r001_f.pdf (42.3 Ko)

Statut

Date de publication

Le Jeudi 2 Novembre 2017

Date de modification

Le Jeudi 2 Novembre 2017