E. WALLACE

E. WALLACE
v.
PRESIDENT OF THE CANADA BORDER SERVICES AGENCY
Appeal No. AP-2015-008

Decision and reasons issued
Monday, November 30, 2015

TABLE OF CONTENTS

 

IN THE MATTER OF an appeal heard on November 26, 2015, pursuant to section 67 of the Customs Act, R.S.C., 1985, c. 1 (2nd Supp.);

AND IN THE MATTER OF a decision of the President of the Canada Border Services Agency, dated May 13, 2015, with respect to a request for re-determination pursuant to subsection 60(4) of the Customs Act.

BETWEEN

E. WALLACE Appellant

AND

THE PRESIDENT OF THE CANADA BORDER SERVICES AGENCY Respondent

DECISION

The appeal is dismissed.

Daniel Petit
Daniel Petit
Presiding Member

Place of Hearing: Ottawa, Ontario
Date of Hearing: November 26, 2015

Tribunal Member: Daniel Petit, Presiding Member

Counsel for the Tribunal: Peter Jarosz

Senior Registrar Officer: Lindsay Vincelli

PARTICIPANTS:

Appellant

 

E. Wallace

 

 

Respondent

Counsel/Representative

President of the Canada Border Services Agency

Peter Nostbakken

Please address all communications to:

The Registrar
Canadian International Trade Tribunal Secretariat
333 Laurier Avenue West
15th Floor
Ottawa, Ontario  K1A 0G7

Telephone: 613-993-3595
Fax: 613-990-2439
E-mail: citt-tcce@tribunal.gc.ca

STATEMENT OF REASONS

INTRODUCTION

  1. This is an appeal filed by Mr. E. Wallace with the Canadian International Trade Tribunal (the Tribunal) pursuant to subsection 67(1) of the Customs Act[1] from a decision made by the President of the Canada Border Services Agency (CBSA) dated May 13, 2015, pursuant to subsection 60(4).
  2. Mr. Wallace purchased a reproduction of a painting during his 20-day trip with his wife to Hawaii. The reproduction, costing US$595, was too large to accompany him in his luggage upon his return to Canada. Instead, he mailed it to his residence in Canada.
  3. Upon returning to Canada, Mr. Wallace filled out a declaration card which showed that he was claiming an exemption for $400 worth of goods (and another $400 for his wife) but neither declared any unaccompanied goods.
  4. The CBSA’s decision was that Mr. Wallace’s importation of the painting was not eligible for the duty and tax exemption for travellers returning to Canada after an absence of seven days or more, according to the terms of tariff item No. 9804.20.00 of the schedule to Customs Tariff.[2] The CBSA therefore assessed a total of $94.12, consisting of $84.17 in goods and services tax (GST)[3] and $9.95 for Canada Post handling fees, on the painting when it was imported into Canada.
  5. Mr. Wallace and the CBSA both filed briefs.
  6. The Tribunal held a file hearing on November 26, 2015.

LEGAL FRAMEWORK

  1. Tariff item No. 9804.20.00 provides duty-free[4] treatment to the following:

98.04 Goods acquired abroad by a resident or temporary resident of Canada or by a former resident who is returning to Canada to resume residence, for the personal or household use of that person or as souvenirs or gifts, but not bought on commission or as an accommodation for any other person or for sale, and reported by that person at time of return to Canada.

. . . 

9804.20.00 -Valued at not more than eight hundred dollars, whether or not included in the baggage accompanying the person returning from abroad after an absence from Canada of not less than seven days.

For the purpose of this tariff item:

(a) goods may include either wine not exceeding 1.5 litres or any alcoholic beverages not exceeding 1.14 litres, and tobacco not exceeding fifty cigars, two hundred cigarettes, two hundred tobacco sticks and two hundred grams of manufactured tobacco, if included in the baggage accompanying the person at the time of return to Canada; and

(b) if goods (other than alcoholic beverages, cigars, cigarettes, tobacco sticks and manufactured tobacco) acquired abroad are not included in the baggage accompanying the person, they may be classified under this tariff item if they are reported by the person at time of return to Canada.

[Emphasis added]

  1. Goods which are to be the subject of such an exemption from duties and taxes must be reported, in writing, by travellers upon their return to Canada. Subsection 2(1) of the Returning Persons Exemption Regulations[5] provides as follows:

2(1) Subject to subsections (2) and (3), any person returning to Canada shall, at the time of the person’s return, report in writing the goods in respect of which an exemption is claimed and express the value of those goods in Canadian dollars.

[Emphasis added]

  1. For travellers returning to Canada by air, this report is done on a declaration card (Form E311). This form includes a statement as to whether any “unaccompanied items”, that is, items which are not in the traveller’s luggage, are to be part of the exemption. A record of this reporting on Form E24, “Personal Exemption CBSA Declaration”, is issued by the CBSA to the traveller in order to enable the traveller to claim or prove the exemption upon delivery or claim of the posted item.[6]

POSITIONS OF PARTIES

  1. Mr. Wallace argued that he was entitled to claim a personal exemption for the painting. He stated that he did not realize that he had to indicate on the declaration card, which he duly completed upon his return, that the painting was being mailed to him. He further argued that there was sufficient value remaining in his exemption to be applied to the painting.
  2. The CBSA argued that the exemption was not applicable since there was no declaration that such unaccompanied goods were to be part of the exemption—this declaration had to be made upon Mr. Wallace’s return to Canada. The CBSA further argued that lack of awareness of the proper declaration requirements was not a valid excuse for not declaring the item.

TRIBUNAL ANALYSIS

  1. The parties agree that the only issue is whether Mr. Wallace’s failure to declare the unaccompanied goods prevents him from obtaining the personal exemption.
  2. At the outset, the Tribunal notes that, in appeals under section 67 of the Act, the CBSA’s decisions are considered on a de novo basis;[7] that is to say, the Tribunal can accept new evidence and hear new arguments. However, this does not change the fact that the Tribunal “. . . is not a court of equity and must apply the law as it is . . . .”[8]
  3. While the Tribunal sympathizes with Mr. Wallace and understands his disappointment with the CBSA’s conduct, it finds that the provisions of the Customs Tariff and the related regulations clearly require specific written reporting of unaccompanied goods for a traveller to qualify for the exemption. Mr. Wallace’s honest mistake in failing to comply with these requirements is nevertheless a mistake for which he must take responsibility.
  4. Proper declarations upon return to Canada are necessary in order to ensure that the exemption is not applied to goods which have no connection to the required length of absence from Canada.
  5. The Tribunal notes that the requirements for claiming this exemption are presented to the travelling public by the CBSA,[9] and, as set out above, the declaration card requires that travellers indicate whether they “. . . have unaccompanied goods.”[10]
  6. In any event, the above observations do not change the Tribunal’s conclusion that the goods were not declared in writing upon Mr. Wallace’s return to Canada; if they had been, the goods would have been exempt from duties and taxes.

DECISION

  1. Therefore, the Tribunal finds that the goods in issue do not qualify for treatment under the terms of tariff item No. 9804.20.00.
  2. The appeal is dismissed.
 

[1].      R.S.C., 1985, c. 1 (2nd Supp.) [Act].

[2].      S.C. 1997, c. 36.

[3].      No customs duty was assessed since the goods are duty-free.

[4].      For the purposes of these provisions, “duty” also refers to the GST as per Note 4 to Chapter 98.

[5].      S.O.R./98-61.

[6].      Exhibit AP-2015-008-08A at paras. 31-33, Vol. 1.

[7].      Canadian Tire Corporation, Limited v. President of the Canada Border Services Agency (12 June 2014), AP‑2013-042 (CITT) at para. 23.

[8].      Jockey Canada Company v. President of the Canada Border Services Agency (20 December 2012), AP‑2011‑008 (CITT) at para. 292.

[9].      See the following CBSA online publications: “Paying duty and taxes”, http://www.cbsa-asfc.gc.ca/travel-voyage/pdt-pdt-eng.html, and “I Declare”, http://www.cbsa-asfc.gc.ca/publications/pub/bsf5056-eng.html#s2x8. With respect to the exemption in question, these publications refer to the following: “7 days or more Up to CAN$800 . . . goods will qualify for duty- and tax-free entry if they are declared at the initial return to Canada” and “When you return to Canada, you have to declare all of the goods you acquired while outside Canada, such as purchases, gifts, prizes or awards that you are bringing with you or are having shipped to you. . . . If you are declaring goods claimed as part of your CAN$800 (7 day) exemption that preceded or will follow your arrival in Canada, ask the border services officer for a Form E24, Personal Exemption CBSA Declaration. You will need your copy of this form to claim these goods; otherwise, you may have to pay the regular duty and taxes on them” [emphasis in original]. However, the forms that are given out to air travellers are not as clear or consistent with the above.

[10].    The Tribunal is by no means convinced that travellers understand that this phrase refers to goods such as the one in question which have been acquired by the traveller abroad and sent to Canada by mail, courier or otherwise. The Tribunal suggests that Form E311 be changed to better reflect the statutory provisions and to not mislead or confuse travellers. For example, the current text could be changed to “I/we have sent to Canada by mail, courier or otherwise, goods acquired abroad which are not with me/us or in my/our luggage” or “I/we have unaccompanied goods (which are goods acquired abroad and sent to Canada by mail, courier or otherwise, which are not with me/us or in my/our luggage)”.

Case Number(s)

AP-2015-008

Attachment(s)

ap2p008_e.pdf (84.45 KB)

Status

Publication Date

Tuesday, December 15, 2015

Modification Date

Tuesday, December 15, 2015

E. WALLACE

E. WALLACE
c.
PRÉSIDENT DE L’AGENCE DES SERVICES FRONTALIERS DU CANADA
Appel no AP-2015-008

Décision et motifs rendus
le lundi 30 novembre 2015

TABLE DES MATIÈRES

 

EU ÉGARD À un appel entendu le 26 novembre 2015 aux termes de l’article 67 de la Loi sur les douanes, L.R.C. (1985), ch. 1 (2e suppl.);

ET EU ÉGARD À une décision rendue par le président de l’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada le 13 mai 2015 concernant une demande de révision aux termes du paragraphe 60(4) de la Loi sur les douanes.

ENTRE

E. WALLACE Appelant

ET

LE PRÉSIDENT DE L’AGENCE DES SERVICES FRONTALIERS DU CANADA Intimé

DÉCISION

L’appel est rejeté.

Daniel Petit
Daniel Petit
Membre présidant

Lieu de l’audience : Ottawa (Ontario)
Date de l’audience : le 26 novembre 2015

Membre du Tribunal : Daniel Petit, membre présidant

Conseiller juridique pour le Tribunal : Peter Jarosz

Agent principal du greffe : Lindsay Vincelli

PARTICIPANTS :

Appelant

 

E. Wallace

 

 

Intimé

Conseiller/représentant

Président de l’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada

Peter Nostbakken

Veuillez adresser toutes les communications au :

Greffier
Secrétariat du Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur
15e étage
333, avenue Laurier Ouest
Ottawa (Ontario)  K1A 0G7

Téléphone : 613-993-3595
Télécopieur : 613-990-2439
Courriel : tcce-citt@tribunal.gc.ca

EXPOSÉ DES MOTIFS

INTRODUCTION

  1. Il s’agit d’un appel interjeté par M. E. Wallace auprès du Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur (le Tribunal) aux termes du paragraphe 67(1) de la Loi sur les douanes[1] à l’égard d’une décision rendue par le président de l’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada (ASFC) le 13 mai 2015 conformément au paragraphe 60(4).
  2. M. Wallace a acheté la reproduction d’une peinture au cours d’un voyage de 20 jours à Hawaï en compagnie de sa femme. La reproduction, qui a coûté 595 $ US, était de trop grandes dimensions pour faire partie de ses bagages à son retour au Canada. Il l’a donc envoyée par la poste à son domicile au Canada.
  3. À son retour au Canada, M. Wallace a rempli un formulaire de déclaration dans lequel il a déclaré des marchandises d’une valeur de 400 $ au titre de son exemption personnelle (plus des marchandises d’une valeur de 400 $ au titre de l’exemption de sa femme), mais ni l’un ni l’autre n’a déclaré de marchandises non accompagnées.
  4. Dans sa décision, l’ASFC a conclu que l’importation de la peinture par M. Wallace n’était pas admissible à l’exemption de droits et de taxes à laquelle ont accès les voyageurs qui reviennent au Canada après une absence de 7 jours ou plus, aux termes du numéro tarifaire 9804.20.00 de l’annexe du Tarif des douanes[2]. L’ASFC a donc déterminé que des droits de 94,12 $ s’appliquaient à l’importation de la peinture; soit 84,17 $ au titre de la taxe sur les produits et services (TPS)[3] et 9,95 $ au titre des frais de manutention de Postes Canada.
  5. M. Wallace et l’ASFC ont tous deux déposé des mémoires.
  6. Le Tribunal a tenu une audience sur pièces le 26 novembre 2015.

CADRE LÉGISLATIF

  1. Le numéro tarifaire 9804.20.00 prévoit l’exemption de droits[4] pour les marchandises suivantes :

98.04 Marchandises acquises à l’étranger par un résident ou un résident temporaire du Canada ou par un ancien résident revenant au Canada pour reprendre résidence, pour son usage personnel ou domestique, ou comme souvenirs ou cadeaux, mais non achetées à la demande d’autres personnes ni pour rendre service, ni pour la vente, et déclarées par ladite personne lors de son retour au Canada.

[...]

9804.20.00 -Évaluées au plus à huit cents dollars, même contenues dans les bagages accompagnant la personne revenant de l’étranger après une absence du Canada d’au moins sept jours.

Aux fins du présent numéro tarifaire :

a) les marchandises peuvent comprendre du vin n’excédant pas 1,5 litre ou des boissons alcooliques n’excédant pas 1,14 litre et une quantité de tabac n’excédant pas cinquante cigares, deux cents cigarettes, deux cents bâtonnets de tabac et deux cents grammes de tabac fabriqué, s’ils sont contenus dans les bagages accompagnant la personne lors de son retour au Canada; et

b) lorsque les marchandises (sauf les boissons alcooliques, les cigares, les cigarettes, les bâtonnets de tabac et le tabac fabriqué) acquises à l’étranger ne sont pas contenues dans les bagages accompagnant la personne, elles peuvent être classées dans le présent numéro tarifaire si elles sont déclarées par la personne lors de son retour au Canada.

[Nos italiques]

  1. Pour bénéficier de cette exemption de droits et de taxes, les voyageurs doivent déclarer les marchandises pertinentes, par écrit, à leur retour au Canada. Le paragraphe 2(1) du Règlement sur l’exemption accordée aux personnes revenant au Canada[5] prévoit ce qui suit :

2(1) Sous réserve des paragraphes (2) et (3), quiconque revient au Canada doit, à son retour, déclarer par écrit les marchandises pour lesquelles il demande une exemption, ainsi que leur valeur en monnaie canadienne.

[Nos italiques]

  1. Dans le cas des voyageurs qui reviennent au Canada par avion, cette déclaration doit être faite sur une carte de déclaration (formulaire E311). Ce formulaire comprend notamment un énoncé déclarant si des « biens non accompagnées », c’est-à-dire des marchandises qui ne font pas partie des bagages du voyageur, sont visés par l’exemption. Cette déclaration est enregistrée dans le formulaire E24 « Déclaration de l’ASFC relative aux exemptions personnelles », qui est remis au voyageur pour lui permettre de réclamer ou d’attester l’exemption à la livraison des articles déclarés[6].

POSITION DES PARTIES

  1. M. Wallace fait valoir qu’il avait droit à une exemption personnelle pour la peinture. Il affirme n’avoir pas réalisé qu’il devait indiquer, sur la carte de déclaration qu’il a remplie à son retour, que la peinture lui parviendrait par la poste. Il fait aussi valoir que la valeur non utilisée de son exemption est suffisante pour couvrir la peinture.
  2. L’ASFC fait valoir que l’exemption ne s’applique pas étant donné qu’elle n’a pas été réclamée par une déclaration de marchandise non accompagnée — cette déclaration devait être faite lors du retour de M. Wallace au Canada. L’ASFC fait aussi valoir que l’ignorance des exigences en matière de déclaration ne constitue pas une excuse valable pour l’omission de déclarer l’article.

ANALYSE DU TRIBUNAL

  1. Les parties conviennent que la seule question à trancher est de savoir si l’omission par M. Wallace de déclarer les marchandises non accompagnées fait en sorte qu’il ne peut pas leur appliquer son exemption personnelle.
  2. Dès le départ, le Tribunal fait remarquer que dans les appels aux termes de l’article 67 de la Loi, les décisions de l’ASFC sont soumises à une procédure de novo[7]; c’est-à-dire que le Tribunal peut tenir compte de nouveaux éléments de preuve et de nouveaux témoignages. Cependant, cela ne change pas le fait que le Tribunal « [...] n’est pas un tribunal d’équité et qu’il doit appliquer la loi telle qu’elle est rédigée [...] »[8].
  3. Même si le Tribunal compatit avec M. Wallace et comprend sa déception à l’égard du comportement de l’ASFC, il conclut que les dispositions du Tarif des douanes et des règlements afférents exigent clairement que le voyageur fasse une déclaration écrite spécifique sur les marchandises non accompagnées pour avoir droit à l’exemption. L’erreur de bonne foi de M. Wallace par laquelle il a omis de se conformer à ces exigences n’en demeure pas moins une erreur dont il doit accepter les conséquences.
  4. Les déclarations dans les règles lors du retour au Canada sont nécessaires pour faire en sorte que l’exemption ne soit pas appliquée à des marchandises sans rapport avec la durée exigée du séjour hors Canada.
  5. Le Tribunal souligne que les exigences applicables à cette exemption sont présentées aux voyageurs par l’ASFC[9] et que, comme il a été décrit précédemment, la carte de déclaration demande aux voyageurs d’indiquer s’ils « [ont] des biens non accompagnés »[10].
  6. Quoi qu’il en soit, les observations ci-dessus ne modifient en rien la conclusion du Tribunal voulant que les marchandises n’ont pas été déclarées par écrit lors du retour au Canada de M. Wallace; si elles l’avaient été, les marchandises auraient été exemptées de droits et de taxes.

DÉCISION

  1. Par conséquent, le Tribunal statue que les marchandises en question ne sont pas admissibles au traitement du numéro tarifaire 9804.20.00.
  2. L’appel est rejeté.
 

[1].      L.R.C. (1985), ch. 1 (2e suppl.) [Loi].

[2].      L.C. 1997, ch. 36.

[3].      Aucuns droits de douane n’ont été ajoutés car les marchandises en étaient exemptées.

[4].      Aux fins de l’application de ces dispositions, « droits » s’entend aussi de la TPS, conformément à la note 4 du chapitre 98.

[5].      D.O.R.S./98-61.

[6].      Pièce AP-2015-008-08A aux par. 31-33, vol. 1.

[7].      La Société Canadian Tire Corporation Limitée c. Président de l’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada (12 juin 2014), AP‑2013-042 (TCCE) au par. 23.

[8].      Jockey Canada Company c. Président de l’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada (20 décembre 2012), AP‑2011‑008 (TCCE) au par. 292.

[9].      Voir les publications électroniques suivantes de l’ASFC : « Paiement des droits et des taxes » (http://www.cbsa-asfc.gc.ca/travel-voyage/pdt-pdt-fra.html) et « Je déclare » (http://www.cbsa-asfc.gc.ca/publications/pub/bsf5056-fra.html). À l’égard de l’exemption dont il est question, ces publications expliquent ce qui suit : « 7 jours ou plus Jusqu’à 800 $CAN [...] les marchandises seront admissibles à la franchise de droits si vous les déclarez à la frontière à votre retour au Canada » et « Lorsque vous revenez au Canada, vous devez déclarer toutes les marchandises que vous avez achetées ou reçues pendant votre séjour à l’extérieur du Canada, qu’il s’agisse d’un cadeau, d’un prix ou d’une récompense, que vous rapportiez les marchandises avec vous ou que vous les faites expédier. [...] Si des marchandises comprises dans votre exemption de 800 $CAN (7 jours) vous sont livrées avant ou après votre arrivée, demandez à l’agent des services frontaliers le formulaire E24, Déclaration de l’ASFC relative aux exemptions personnelles. Vous aurez besoin de votre copie de ce formulaire pour récupérer vos marchandises; sinon, vous pourriez être tenu de payer les droits et les taxes habituels sur celles-ci » [italiques dans l’original]. Cependant, les formulaires donnés aux voyageurs aériens ne donnent pas exactement les mêmes renseignements et ne sont pas aussi clairs que ce qui précède.

[10].    Le Tribunal n’est pas du tout convaincu que les voyageurs comprennent que cet énoncé se rapporte à des marchandises comme l’article visé par le litige, qui ont été acquis à l’étranger par le voyageur et expédiés au Canada par la poste, par messagerie ou d’une autre manière. Le Tribunal suggère que le formulaire E311 soit modifié pour mieux refléter les dispositions de la loi et éviter d’induire les voyageurs en erreur ou de les confondre. Par exemple, le texte actuel pourrait être remplacé par « J’ai (nous avons) envoyé au Canada, par la poste, par messagerie ou d’une autre façon, des biens acquis à l’étranger et qui ne font pas partie de mes (nos) bagages » ou « J’ai (nous avons) des biens non accompagnés (soit des biens acquis à l’étranger et envoyés au Canada par la poste, par messagerie ou d’une autre façon qui ne font pas partie de mes (nos) bagages) ».

Numéro(s) du cas

AP-2015-008

Pièce(s) jointe(s)

ap2p008_f.pdf (87.62 Ko)

Statut

Date de publication

Le Mardi 15 Décembre 2015

Date de modification

Le Mardi 15 Décembre 2015