SOUTHERN PACIFIC RESOURCE CORP.

SOUTHERN PACIFIC RESOURCE CORP.
v.
PRESIDENT OF THE CANADA BORDER SERVICES AGENCY
Appeal No. AP-2014-028

Decision issued
Friday, September 18, 2015

Reasons issued
Friday, October 2, 2015

TABLE OF CONTENTS

 

IN THE MATTER OF an appeal heard on June 2, 2015, pursuant to section 67 of the Customs Act, R.S.C., 1985, c. 1 (2nd Supp.);

AND IN THE MATTER OF various decisions of the President of the Canada Border Services Agency, dated November 20, 2014, pursuant to subsection 60(4) of the Customs Act.

BETWEEN

SOUTHERN PACIFIC RESOURCE CORP. Appellant

AND

THE PRESIDENT OF THE CANADA BORDER SERVICES AGENCY Respondent

DECISION

The appeal is allowed. Amounts paid by Southern Pacific Resource Corp., in order to pursue this appeal, are to be refunded by the Canada Border Services Agency.

Jason W. Downey
Jason W. Downey
Presiding Member

The statement of reasons will be issued at a later date.

Place of Hearing: Ottawa, Ontario
Date of Hearing: June 2, 2015

Tribunal Member: Jason W. Downey, Presiding Member

Counsel for the Tribunal: Eric Wildhaber
Rebecca Marshall-Pritchard
Courtney Fitzpatrick

Senior Registrar Officer: Julie Lescom

PARTICIPANTS:

Appellant

Counsel/Representative

Southern Pacific Resource Corp.

Peter Kirby

 

Respondent

Counsel/Representative

President of the Canada Border Services Agency

Orlagh O’Kelly

WITNESSES:

Troy Bergfeldt
Manager of Financial Accounting
Southern Pacific Resource Corp.

Byron Fitzgerald
Manager, Litigation Unit, Recourse Directorate
Canada Border Services Agency

Please address all communications to:

The Registrar
Canadian International Trade Tribunal Secretariat
333 Laurier Avenue West
15th Floor
Ottawa, Ontario  K1A 0G7

Telephone: 613-993-3595
Fax: 613-990-2439
E-mail: citt-tcce@tribunal.gc.ca

STATEMENT OF REASONS

CONTEXT AND DISCUSSION

  1. This is an appeal filed by Southern Pacific Resource Corp. (Southern Pacific) with the Canadian International Trade Tribunal (the Tribunal) on December 3, 2014, pursuant to subsection 67(1) of the Customs Act.[1]
  2. A public hearing was held in Ottawa, Ontario, on June 2, 2015. This decision and statement of reasons are being issued concurrently with those in Bri-Chem Supply Ltd. v. President of the Canada Border Services Agency[2] and Ever Green Ecological Services Inc. v. President of the Canada Border Services Agency;[3] those appeals were heard together on May 7 and 8, 2015. All three appeals concern the taxpayer’s ability to make corrections to erroneous customs declarations.
  3. The appeals were filed with the Tribunal as a result of the refusal by the President of the Canada Border Services Agency (CBSA) to apply the Tribunal’s decision in Frito-Lay Canada, Inc. v. President of the Canada Border Services Agency.[4]
  4. Southern Pacific is appealing the CBSA’s claim that it owes duties on the goods in issue. The Tribunal finds that Southern Pacific owes none.
  5. During 2011 and 2012, Southern Pacific imported turbines (the goods in issue), classified them under tariff item No. 8502.39.90 of the schedule to the Customs Tariff[5] (that information is entered in box No. 27 on customs forms), declared them to be of U.S. origin (box No. 12, specifically, it indicated “UCA”, meaning “United States, California”) and indicated code 2 for tariff treatment (box No. 14, code 2 corresponds to Most-Favoured-Nation [MFN] tariff treatment). The applicable rate of duty was zero.[6]
  6. As was the case in Bri-Chem, and Ever Green, the goods in issue would have entered Canada duty‑free no matter where they originated in the world[7] and irrespective of the tariff treatment code that Southern Pacific had entered on its forms, because the goods in issue were also duty-free under all other preferential tariff treatments, whether under a free trade agreement or not. In other words, the goods in issue were duty-free “across the board”.
  7. On June 3, 2013, the CBSA informed Southern Pacific that it would conduct a trade compliance verification for the period covering the dates of the importations of the goods in issue.[8]
  8. On January 30, 2014, the CBSA informed Southern Pacific that the goods in issue should have been classified under tariff item No. 8502.39.10 instead of tariff item No. 8502.39.90.[9] Unlike goods imported under tariff item No. 8502.39.90 (duty-free “across the board”), goods imported under tariff item No. 8502.39.10 are dutiable at 4 percent ad valorem under MFN tariff treatment, but are duty-free under the United States Tariff (UST/NAFTA).
  9. On March 10, 2014, to reflect its newfound understanding of what the goods actually were in terms of tariff classification, Southern Pacific filed corrections pursuant to subsection 32.2(2) of the Act, changing the tariff classification of the goods in issue to tariff item No. 8502.39.10 and indicating code 10 (for “UST”) in box No. 14 (used for tariff treatment). As was the case initially, Southern Pacific reiterated that the goods were of U.S. origin (box No. 12, specifically the goods originated in “UCA”, meaning “United States, California”).[10]
  10. In addition, between March 10 and March 31, 2014, Southern Pacific filed additional corrections to tariff classification of the same nature to remedy the same mistake that it had made in respect of a number of other transactions that were not the subject of the CBSA’s verification audit. The CBSA rejected Southern Pacific’s filings, claiming that it owed duties at the MFN rate. Those decisions are the subject of this appeal.
  11. Essentially, the CBSA takes the same position as described in Bri-Chem.[11]
  12. At the hearing, the witness for the CBSA recognized that, where goods are duty-free under both MFN tariff treatment and UST/NAFTA tariff treatment, indicating “UST” on customs documents could constitute an invitation for CBSA officials to audit for UST/NAFTA compliance.[12] The witness acknowledged that the CBSA does not audit MFN declarations because the goods declared as MFN could originate in any country other than the People’s Republic of Korea.[13]
  13. However, if an importer declares a tariff treatment other than MFN (e.g. UST/NAFTA), the witness explained that auditors will likely investigate for origin and tariff treatment compliance.
  14. The witness also proposed that importers should “hedge” against potential accounting mistakes by always claiming UST/NAFTA treatment where available, “just in case”, notwithstanding the reality that both MFN and UST/NAFTA both command a rate of duty of zero on particular goods.[14]
  15. That type of behaviour is by definition counter-intuitive to the proper administration of the customs regime. In a world where all importers would adopt the practice of claiming UST/NAFTA tariff treatment on all imports from the United States, even when the MFN rate of duty is also zero, the CBSA would, by dilution, lose sight of which transactions should rightfully be audited. This approach would become financially and administratively burdensome for both importers and the CBSA.[15] This is not what the free trade agreements intended.
  16. For the same reasons given in Bri-Chem, the Tribunal finds that Southern Pacific made revenue-neutral changes in tariff classification where the previously claimed duty-free status now required a code 10 (for “UST”) in order to be maintained. The goods in issue were always duty-free admissible importations originating in the United States and eligible, from the beginning, for UST/NAFTA tariff treatment. As examined in Frito-Lay, this never placed Southern Pacific in a refund situation, as synthesized by the CBSA; section 74 of the Act is not applicable.
  17. For the same reasons given in Bri-Chem, the Tribunal also finds that the CBSA’s actions in this matter constitute an abuse of process..

DECISION

  1. The appeal is allowed. Amounts paid by Southern Pacific, in order to pursue this appeal, are to be refunded by the CBSA.
 

[1].      R.S.C., 1985, c. 1 (2nd Supp.) [Act].

[2].      (18 September 2015), AP-2014-017 (CITT) [Bri-Chem].

[3].      (18 September 2015), AP-2014-027 (CITT) [Ever Green].

[4].      (21 December 2012), AP-2010-002 (CITT) [Frito-Lay].

[5].      S.C. 1997, c. 36.

[6].      Exhibit AP-2014-28-7C (protected), tab 6, Vol. 2; Exhibit AP-2014-028-7B, tab 7, Vol. 1.

[7].      The only exception is if the goods originated in the People’s Republic of Korea, which is the only country that is subject to the General Tariff.

[8].      Exhibit AP-2014-28-7C (protected), tab 8, Vol. 2; Exhibit AP-2014-28-7B, tab 9, Vol. 1.

[9].      Southern Pacific did not dispute the revised tariff classification.

[10].    Tribunal Exhibit AP-2014-028-7C (protected), tab 13, Vol. 2.

[11].    Bri-Chem at para. 12.

[12].    Transcript of Public Hearing, 2 June 2015, at 104.

[13].    Ibid. at 71, 104.

[14].    Ibid. at 97.

[15].    The witness for the CBSA stated as follows: “But if the goods are zero duty both under MFN and under NAFTA, there is no financial sense for them to make that filing, because it [costs] brokerage fees to file that. And the CBSA obviously doesn’t want [to] process things that aren’t necessary, for one reason or another”, ibid. at 96. In addition, the CBSA devised what it calls an administrative solution where it proposes recourse to the refund provisions of section 74 of the Act for “revenue neutral”. The witness for the CBSA states as follows: “. . . [the] CBSA will allow that change under section 74 if an importer wants to. There is no reason for [the importer] to want to do it, but if they want to do it and pay the money to file it, by all means go ahead” [emphasis added], ibid. at 99. Such reasoning is absurd.

Case Number(s)

AP-2014-028

Attachment(s)

ap2o028_e.pdf (88.16 KB)

Status

Publication Date

Monday, October 26, 2015

Modification Date

Monday, October 26, 2015

SOUTHERN PACIFIC RESOURCE CORP.

SOUTHERN PACIFIC RESOURCE CORP.
c.
PRÉSIDENT DE L’AGENCE DES SERVICES FRONTALIERS DU CANADA

Appel no AP-2014-028

Décision rendue
le vendredi 18 septembre 2015

Motifs rendus
le vendredi 2 octobre 2015

TABLE DES MATIÈRES

 

EU ÉGARD À un appel entendu le 2 juin 2015, en vertu de l’article 67 de la Loi sur les douanes, L.R.C. (1985), ch. 1 (2e suppl.);

ET EU ÉGARD À diverses décisions rendues par le président de l’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada le 20 novembre 2014 aux termes du paragraphe 60(4) de la Loi sur les douanes.

ENTRE

SOUTHERN PACIFIC RESOURCE CORP. Appelante

ET

LE PRÉSIDENT DE L’AGENCE DES SERVICES FRONTALIERS DU CANADA Intimé

DÉCISION

L’appel est admis. Les montants payés par Southern Pacific Resource Corp., afin de pouvoir procéder au présent appel, doivent être remboursés par l’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada.

Jason W. Downey
Jason W. Downey
Membre présidant

L’exposé des motifs suivra à une date ultérieure.

Lieu de l’audience : Ottawa (Ontario)
Date de l’audience : le 2 juin 2015

Membre du Tribunal : Jason W. Downey, membre présidant

Conseillers juridiques pour le Tribunal : Eric Wildhaber
Rebecca Marshall-Pritchard
Courtney Fitzpatrick

Agent de soutien du greffe : Julie Lescom

PARTICIPANTS :

Appelante

Conseiller/représentant

Southern Pacific Resource Corp.

Peter Kirby

 

Intimé

Conseiller/représentant

Président de l’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada

Orlagh O’Kelly

TÉMOINS :

Troy Bergfeldt
Gestionnaire, Comptabilité
Southern Pacific Resource Corp.

Byron Fitzgerald
Gestionnaire, Division des litiges, Direction des recours
Agence des services frontaliers du Canada

Veuillez adresser toutes les communications au :

Greffier
Secrétariat du Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur
15e étage
333, avenue Laurier Ouest
Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0G7

Téléphone : 613-993-3595
Télécopieur : 613-990-2439
Courriel : tcce-citt@tribunal.gc.ca

EXPOSÉ DES MOTIFS

CONTEXTE ET ANALYSE

  1. Le présent appel a été interjeté par Southern Pacific Resource Corp. (Southern Pacific) auprès du Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur (le Tribunal) le 3 décembre 2014, aux termes du paragraphe 67(1) de la Loi sur les douanes[1].
  2. Une audience publique a eu lieu à Ottawa (Ontario) le 2 juin 2015. La présente décision et le présent exposé des motifs sont rendus en même temps que la décision et l’exposé des motifs des affaires Bri-Chem Supply Ltd. c. Président de l’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada[2] et Ever Green Ecological Services Inc. c. Président de l’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada[3], ces appels ayant été instruits ensemble les 7 et 8 mai 2015. Les trois appels concernent la capacité du contribuable de corriger des déclarations en douane erronées.
  3. Les trois appels ont été interjetés auprès du Tribunal en raison du refus du président de l’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada (ASFC) d’appliquer la décision rendue par le Tribunal dans l’affaire Frito-Lay Canada, Inc. c. Président de l’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada[4].
  4. Southern Pacific interjette appel de l’allégation de l’ASFC selon laquelle elle doit verser des droits sur les marchandises en cause. Le Tribunal conclut que Southern Pacific ne doit rien verser.
  5. En 2011 et 2012, Southern Pacific a importé des turbines (les marchandises en cause), les a classées dans le numéro tarifaire 8502.39.90 de l’annexe du Tarif des douanes[5] (case no 27 du formulaire de douane), a déclaré que le pays d’origine était les États-Unis (case no 12, l’origine étant plus précisément « UCA », c’est-à-dire États-Unis, Californie) et a indiqué le code 2 pour le traitement tarifaire (case no 14, le code 2 correspondant au tarif de la nation la plus favorisée). Le taux de droit applicable était de zéro[6].
  6. Comme c’était le cas dans les affaires Bri-Chem et Ever Green, les marchandises en cause auraient dû entrer au Canada en franchise de droits peu importe leur pays d’origine[7] et peu importe le code de traitement tarifaire inscrit par Southern Pacific sur le formulaire, parce que les marchandises en cause étaient également exemptes de droits en vertu de tous les autres traitements tarifaires préférentiels, que ce soit dans le cadre d’un accord de libre-échange ou non. Autrement dit, les marchandises en cause bénéficiaient d’un accès en franchise de droits généralisé.
  7. Le 3 juin 2013, l’ASFC a informé Southern Pacific qu’elle effectuerait une vérification de l’observation commerciale pour la période d’importation des marchandises en cause[8].
  8. Le 30 janvier 2014, l’ASFC a informé Southern Pacific que les marchandises en cause auraient dû être classées dans le numéro tarifaire 8502.39.10 plutôt que dans le numéro tarifaire 8502.39.90[9]. Contrairement aux marchandises importées en vertu du numéro tarifaire 8502.39.90 (accès en franchise de droits généralisé), les marchandises importées en vertu du numéro tarifaire 8502.39.10 sont passibles de droits de 4 p. 100 ad valorem selon le tarif de la nation la plus favorisée (NPF), mais sont exemptes de droits selon le tarif des États‑Unis (TEU/ALENA).
  9. Le 10 mars 2014, en fonction de ce qu’elle venait d’apprendre sur le classement tarifaire des marchandises, Southern Pacific a apporté des corrections, aux termes du paragraphe 32.2(2) de la Loi. Elle a modifié le classement tarifaire des marchandises en cause pour indiquer le numéro tarifaire 8502.39.10 et a inscrit le code 10 (pour « TEU », tarif des États‑Unis) à la case no 14 (où est indiqué le traitement tarifaire). Comme c’était le cas au départ, Southern Pacific a de nouveau indiqué que les marchandises étaient originaires des États-Unis (case no 12, l’origine étant plus précisément « UCA », c’est-à-dire États-Unis, Californie)[10].
  10. De plus, entre le 10 mars et le 31 mars 2014, Southern Pacific a apporté d’autres corrections de même nature au classement tarifaire pour remédier à l’erreur semblable qu’elle avait faite relativement à certaines autres transactions qui n’avaient pas été visées par la vérification effectuée par l’ASFC. L’ASFC a rejeté les corrections déposées par Southern Pacific, alléguant que des droits étaient dus au taux du tarif NPF. Ces décisions font l’objet du présent appel.
  11. Essentiellement, l’ASFC adopte la même position que celle décrite dans l’affaire Bri-Chem[11].
  12. À l’audience, le témoin de l’ASFC a reconnu que, lorsque les marchandises sont exemptes de droits en vertu à la fois du tarif NPF et du tarif des États‑Unis, le fait d’indiquer « TEU » sur les documents de douane pourrait inciter les fonctionnaires de l’ASFC à vérifier la conformité au TEU/ALENA[12]. Le témoin a reconnu que l’ASFC ne vérifiait pas les déclarations indiquant le tarif NPF, car les marchandises qui bénéficient de ce tarif peuvent provenir de n’importe quel pays autre que la République populaire de Corée[13].
  13. Toutefois, si l’importateur déclare un traitement tarifaire autre que celui de la nation la plus favorisée (par exemple TEU/ALENA), le témoin a expliqué que les vérificateurs procéderont vraisemblablement à une vérification de la conformité au regard de l’origine et du traitement tarifaire.
  14. Le témoin a aussi avancé que les importateurs devaient se « prémunir » [traduction] contre d’éventuelles erreurs comptables en demandant toujours « à titre de précaution » [traduction] le traitement tarifaire TEU/ALENA lorsque c’était possible, bien qu’en réalité le tarif NPF et le traitement tarifaire TEU/ALENA commandent tous deux un taux de droit de zéro sur des marchandises en particulier[14].
  15. Ce type de comportement, par définition, va à l’encontre de la saine administration du régime douanier. Dans un monde où les importateurs adopteraient comme pratique de demander le traitement tarifaire TEU/ALENA sur toutes les importations en provenance des États‑Unis, même lorsque le taux de droit du tarif NPF est également de zéro, l’ASFC perdrait de vue, par dilution, les transactions qui devraient à juste titre être vérifiées. Cette démarche imposerait un fardeau financier et administratif aux importateurs et à l’ASFC[15]. Ce n’est pas ce que visent les accords de libre-échange.
  16. Pour les mêmes motifs que ceux donnés dans l’affaire Bri-Chem, le Tribunal conclut que Southern Pacific a apporté des corrections au classement tarifaire qui sont sans incidence sur les recettes, le code 10 (pour « TEU ») étant dorénavant requis pour maintenir l’admissibilité à la franchise de droits demandée auparavant. Les marchandises en cause ont toujours été des importations admissibles à la franchise de droits originaires des États-Unis et admissibles, depuis le début, au traitement tarifaire TEU/ALENA. Comme dans l’affaire Frito-Lay, cela n’a jamais placé Southern Pacific dans une situation de remboursement telle qu’imaginée par l’ASFC; l’article 74 de la Loi ne s’applique pas.
  17. Pour les mêmes motifs que ceux donnés dans l’affaire Bri-Chem, le Tribunal conclut également que les mesures prises par l’ASFC dans cette affaire constituent un abus de procédure.

DÉCISION

  1. L’appel est admis. Les montants payés par Southern Pacific, afin de pouvoir procéder au présent appel, doivent être remboursés par l’ASFC.
 

[1].      L.R.C. (1985), ch. 1 (2e suppl.) [Loi].

[2].      (18 septembre 2015), AP-2014-017 (TCCE) [Bri-Chem].

[3].      (18 septembre 2015), AP-2014-027 (TCCE) [Ever Green].

[4].      (21 décembre 2012), AP-2010-002 (TCCE) [Frito-Lay].

[5].      L.C. 1997, ch. 36.

[6].      Pièce AP-2014-28-7C (protégée), onglet 6, vol. 2; pièce AP-2014-028-7B, onglet 7, vol. 1.

[7].      L’unique exception concerne les marchandises originaires de la République populaire de Corée, le seul pays visé par le tarif général.

[8].      Pièce AP-2014-28-7C (protégée), onglet 8, vol. 2; pièce AP-2014-28-7B, onglet 9, vol. 1.

[9].      Southern Pacific ne conteste pas le classement tarifaire révisé.

[10].    Pièce AP-2014-028-7C (protégée), onglet 13, vol. 2.

[11].    Bri-Chem au par. 12.

[12].    Transcription de l’audience publique, 2 juin 2015, à la p. 104.

[13].    Ibid. aux pp. 71, 104.

[14].    Ibid. à la p. 97.

[15].    Le témoin de l’ASFC a déclaré ce qui suit : « Cependant, si un taux de droit de zéro s’applique aux marchandises tant en vertu du tarif NPF que de l’ALENA, aucune raison financière ne justifie cette demande à cause des droits de courtage qui y sont associés. Et l’ASFC ne veut manifestement pas traiter de choses qui ne sont pas nécessaires, pour une raison ou pour une autre » [traduction], ibid. à la p. 96. En plus, l’ASFC a élaboré ce qu’elle appelle une solution administrative où elle propose le recours aux dispositions sur le remboursement énoncées à l’article 74 de la Loi en l’absence d’« incidence financière ». Selon le témoin de l’ASFC, « l’ASFC permettra ce changement aux termes de l’article 74 si l’importateur le veut. [L’importateur] n’a aucune raison de le vouloir, mais s’il veut le faire et débourser pour ça, eh bien, qu’il le fasse » [nos italiques, traduction], ibid. à la p. 99. Ce raisonnement est absurde.

Numéro(s) du cas

AP-2014-028

Pièce(s) jointe(s)

ap2o028_f.pdf (91.34 Ko)

Statut

Date de publication

Le Lundi 26 Octobre 2015

Date de modification

Le Lundi 26 Octobre 2015