D.S.

D. S.
v.
PRESIDENT OF THE CANADA BORDER SERVICES AGENCY
Appeal No. AP-2014-046

Order issued
Monday, June 8, 2015

Corrigendum issued
Friday, June 12, 2015

TABLE OF CONTENTS

 

IN THE MATTER OF an appeal filed by D. S. on March 24, 2015, pursuant to subsection 67(1) of the Customs Act, R.S.C., 1985, c. 1 (2nd Supp.);

AND IN THE MATTER OF a request made by the President of the Canada Border Services Agency on May 27, 2015, pursuant to subrule 23.1(1) of the Canadian International Trade Tribunal Rules, S.O.R./91-499, for an order allowing the appeal.

BETWEEN

D. S. Appellant

AND

THE PRESIDENT OF THE CANADA BORDER SERVICES AGENCY Respondent

ORDER

WHEREAS, on March 24, 2015, pursuant to subsection 67(1) of the Customs Act (the Act), D. S. filed an appeal in response to a re-determination of the President of the Canada Border Services Agency (CBSA) made under paragraph 60(4)(a) of the Act;

AND WHEREAS that decision classified the EnZo Birk 75 folding knife (the good in issue) as a prohibited weapon/device under tariff item No. 9898.00.00 of the Schedule to the Customs Tariff, S.C. 1997, c. 36;

AND WHEREAS, by letter dated May 27, 2015, the CBSA indicated that it agrees with the position taken by D. S. to the effect that the good in issue is not properly classified under tariff item No. 9898.00.00 as a prohibited weapon/device;

AND WHEREAS, under subparagraph 61(1)(a)(i) of the Act, the CBSA can only further re‑determine the tariff classification of an imported good after a re-determination is made under paragraph 60(4)(a) of the Act, but before an appeal is heard under subsection 67(1) of the Act, if and only if the further re-determination would reduce duties payable on the good;

AND WHEREAS the change in tariff classification of the good in issue sought by the CBSA and D. S. in this matter would not result in a reduction of the duties payable as required by subparagraph 61(1)(a)(i) of the Act;

AND WHEREAS the CBSA is therefore statutorily incapable of effectuating the tariff classification of the good in issue that it is seeking to make for the benefit of D. S. by reason of the limitations contained in subparagraph 61(1)(a)(i) of the Act for the reasons explained above;

AND WHEREAS the intervention of the Canadian International Trade Tribunal is consequently required;

THEREFORE, at the request of the CBSA, the Canadian International Trade Tribunal hereby issues an order allowing the appeal.

Daniel Petit
Daniel Petit
Presiding Member

IN THE MATTER OF an appeal filed by D. S. on March 24, 2015, pursuant to subsection 67(1) of the Customs Act, R.S.C., 1985, c. 1 (2nd Supp.);

AND IN THE MATTER OF a request made by the President of the Canada Border Services Agency on May 27, 2015, pursuant to subrule 23.1(1) of the Canadian International Trade Tribunal Rules, S.O.R./91-499, for an order allowing the appeal.

BETWEEN

D. S. Appellant

AND

THE PRESIDENT OF THE CANADA BORDER SERVICES AGENCY Respondent

CORRIGENDUM

The last sentence of the order should have read as follows:

THEREFORE, at the request of the CBSA, the Canadian International Trade Tribunal hereby allows the appeal.

By order of the Tribunal,

Daniel Petit
Daniel Petit
Presiding Member

Case Number(s)

AP-2014-046

Attachment(s)

ap2o046_e.pdf (53.14 KB)

Status

Publication Date

Friday, June 12, 2015

Modification Date

Friday, June 12, 2015

D.S.

D. S.
c.
PRÉSIDENT DE L’AGENCE DES SERVICES FRONTALIERS DU CANADA

Appel no AP-2014-046

Ordonnance rendue
le lundi 8 juin 2015

Erratum émis
le vendredi 12 juin 2015

TABLE DES MATIÈRES

 

EU ÉGARD À un appel déposé par D. S. le 24 mars 2015 aux termes du paragraphe 67(1) de la Loi sur les douanes, L.R.C. (1985), ch. 1 (2e suppl.);

ET EU ÉGARD À une demande présentée par le président de l’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada le 27 mai 2015 aux termes du paragraphe 23.1(1) des Règles du Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur, D.O.R.S./91-499, en vue d’obtenir une ordonnance admettant l’appel.

ENTRE

D. S. Appelant

ET

LE PRÉSIDENT DE L’AGENCE DES SERVICES FRONTALIERS DU CANADA Intimé

ORDONNANCE

ATTENDUE QUE, le 24 mars 2015, aux termes du paragraphe 67(1) de la Loi sur les douanes (la Loi), D. S. a déposé un appel en réponse à une décision rendue par le président de l’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada (ASFC) concernant une révision aux termes de l’alinéa 60(4)a) de la Loi;

ET ATTENDU QUE, selon la décision, le couteau pliant « EnZo Birk 75 » (la marchandise en cause) a été classé à titre d’arme prohibée/de dispositif prohibé dans le numéro tarifaire 9898.00.00 de l’annexe du Tarif des douanes, L.C. 1997, ch. 36;

ET ATTENDU QUE, dans une lettre datée du 27 mai 2015, l’ASFC a indiqué qu’elle était d’accord avec la position de D. S. selon laquelle la marchandise en cause n’est pas correctement classée dans le numéro tarifaire 9898.00.00 à titre d’arme prohibée/de dispositif prohibé;

ET ATTENDU QUE, aux termes du sous-alinéa 61(1)a)i) de la Loi, l’ASFC ne peut réexaminer le classement tarifaire d’une marchandise importée que lorsqu’une décision est rendue concernant une révision aux termes de l’alinéa 60(4)(a) de la Loi, mais avant l’audience d’un appel aux termes du paragraphe 67(1) de la Loi, si, et seulement si, la décision concernant le réexamen donnait lieu à une réduction des douanes à payer à l’égard de la marchandise;

ET ATTENDU QUE le changement du classement tarifaire de la marchandise en cause demandé par l’ASFC et D. S. dans cette affaire ne donnerait pas lieu à une réduction des douanes à payer conformément au sous-alinéa 61(1)a)i) de la Loi;

ET ATTENDU QUE l’ASFC est donc prescrite par la loi de classer la marchandise en cause afin d’avantager D. S. à cause des restrictions contenues dans le sous-alinéa 61(1)a)i) de la Loi pour les motifs ci-dessus;

ET ATTENDU QUE l’intervention du Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur est donc requise;

PAR CONSÉQUENT, à la demande de l’ASFC, le Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur par la présente ordonne que l’appel soit admis.

Daniel Petit
Daniel Petit
Membre présidant

EU ÉGARD À un appel déposé par D. S. le 24 mars 2015 aux termes du paragraphe 67(1) de la Loi sur les douanes, L.R.C. (1985), ch. 1 (2e suppl.);

ET EU ÉGARD À une demande présentée par le président de l’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada le 27 mai 2015 aux termes du paragraphe 23.1(1) des Règles du Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur, D.O.R.S./91-499, en vue d’obtenir une ordonnance admettant l’appel.

ENTRE

D. S. Appelant

ET

LE PRÉSIDENT DE L’AGENCE DES SERVICES FRONTALIERS DU CANADA Intimé

ERRATUM

La dernière phrase de l’ordonnance aurait dû être formulée comme suit :

PAR CONSÉQUENT, à la demande de l’ASFC, le Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur par la présente accueille l’appel.

Par ordre du Tribunal,

Daniel Petit
Daniel Petit
Membre présidant

Numéro(s) du cas

AP-2014-046

Pièce(s) jointe(s)

ap2o046_f.pdf (53.66 Ko)

Statut

Date de publication

Le Vendredi 12 Juin 2015

Date de modification

Le Vendredi 12 Juin 2015